Shadeology 101: White Privilege

 

Recently “rapper” Macklemore released a 9 minute long song entitled, White Privilege II. This song has spurred controversy and conversation. Before I speak my peace take a listen for yourself (I understand if you don’t sacrifice the full 9 minutes of your life).

 

At first when I heard about the song I adamantly refused to listen to it, not because I don’t think white privilege is an important topic, it is. Macklemore is just a wack rapper, and I couldn’t fathom giving him 9 minutes of my life cause I am still waiting on reparations for all those times ‘Thirft Shop’ came on at the club lbs (laughing but serious). You might be thinking, so what made me decide to give this song a listen? I have no clue, but I did. Yes, all nine minutes. The song is basically a 9 minute conversation Macklemore is having with himself trying to grapple with his own privilege . Now a part of me wants to be ok with this song, but it just reminds me of the time Macklemore posted on social media a text he sent to Kendrick Lamar.

image

His moments of transparency always seem to be connected to his own benefit rather than truly being a selfless act. Anyway enough about Wacklemore, for those of you that are truly interested in tackling and grappling with white identity check this out.

image

 

much love,

praxis

2 thoughts on “Shadeology 101: White Privilege

  1. Michelle Cannon says:

    I love the spectrum of differentiated whiteness! I’m put in mind of UK primary schools’ yearly veneration of historical black figures in Black History Month and am conflicted with some of the issues you’ve been discussing elsewhere in your blog about positioning. Black History month comes around and the same images adorn the display boards around the school year in year out. In the main my impression is that it is tokenistic and superficial but necessary … as a function of the dearth of any black history content anywhere else in the primary curriculum. And don’t get me started on the absence of any local history… that might actually mean something to many of the BEM East End children I’m in contact with.

    Like

    1. praxis says:

      “Tokenistic and superficial but necessary”

      Maybe if teaching of “black history” or better yet the teaching of history did not prioritize a homogenous and Eurocentric view perhaps educators would be inclined to do some research rather than “year in and year out” give their students the same Wikipedia version of “Black History Month” #sipstea 🐸☕️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

