Once Upon a Time

ClapBack: But she did need a fairy godmother, magic, a makeover, a pumpkin, mice, a dog, and a horse…I’m just saying

Once upon a time, (technically 2 days ago) I saw this meme during my usual casual scrolling on bookface (Facebook for those who are confused). I’ve always enjoyed the Disney film, Cinderella, but for some reason when I saw this meme I had a major clapback moment.

(Sidebar)Defining clapback: a comeback most likely pumped with attitude or shade, this is the called upon response when shade is being thrown

Now usually when I see memes the process is read, laugh, scroll. But for some reason the shade this meme was throwin called upon me to clapback. I read it and a slew of comebacks started to fill my head. So here I am blogging about it because for shade to be thrown it requires an audience (fingers crossed somebody decides to read this).

Clapback: I’m not saying take ya dress off. I’m just saying remember the context before you start thinking you’re Cinderella…can you speak to mice? No…then this ain’t your story

I think what bothered me most about this meme was the modesty politics it possessed. Cool, she didn’t take off her dress, but she also didn’t call out the Prince for forgetting her face. I think it is time to shift the conversation from modesty to helping empower young girls and women to set their own standard.

happily ever after,

praxis

2 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time

  1. rachelmgladney says:

    “I think what bothered me most about this meme was the modesty politics it possessed. Cool, she didn’t take off her dress, but she also didn’t call out the Prince for forgetting her face.” – This! I’ve long since found the gender-policing memes that Disney films like Cinderella bring up, but it had never clicked that Prince Charming in fact DID forget her face! I am now compelled to re-watch Disney movies and comprise clapbacks of my own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

